Medical Colleges in Odisha.
Medical Colleges are approved by MCI are 7 institutions. 3 Colleges from the list are state-owned and 4 private-run trusts. There is 1 college that is having Deemed University status from the list of 4 colleges are private managed trusts. Among the 3 government Colleges all of them offer MBBS & PG Courses. And in 4 private-trusts managed Colleges there is one such college that offers only MBBS.

We have given below the List of Medical colleges in Odisha. The list comprises of the Colleges run by government and private trusts.

Further below in the later paragraphs, we have presented separately the government and private Medical Colleges in Odisha with details of the number of MBBS and PG seats available to the aspirants for admission. To start with, we have given below the list of the institutions:

List of Medical Colleges in Odisha

Medical Institution in Odisha approved by MCI are 7 in number located across the state.  The list shows 3 Institutions in Bhubaneswar and the remaining are in Rourkela, Berhampur, Cuttack and Burala.


Name of  Institution



MBBS Seats

PG Seats

1 Hi-Tech Medical College & Hospital Bhubaneswar




2 Hi-Tech Medical College & Hospital Rourkela



3 Instt. Of Medical Sciences & SUM Hospital Bhubaneswar




4 Kalinga Institute of Medical Sciences Bhubaneswar




5 MKCG Medical College Berhampur




6 SCB Medical College Cuttack




7 VSS Medical College Burala








List of Institutions Affiliated to Universities

The Colleges affiliated to the Universities of Odisha are

  • 3 colleges to Utkal University
  • 2 institution to Sambalpur University
  • 1 college to Berhampur University
  • 1 college to Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan University.
  • 1 to KIIT University

“The numbers of seats available every year in these Medical Colleges in Odisha for admission in UG (MBBS) are 750 and PG (MD / MS / PG Diploma) are 434.”

Government of Odisha instituted Policy Planning Body conducts the process of admission through OBJEE to MBBS, PG Degree and Diploma Courses in the Government / Private Medical Colleges in Odisha.

Recognized by Medical Council of India – The MBBS / PG degree awarded by Utkal University, Sambalpur University and Berhampur University recognized by Medical Council of India, a statutory body, established by the IMC Act responsible for establishing and maintaining uniform standard of medical education and recognition of medical qualification of India & abroad.

Common Entrance Test for Odisha Students & for Non-Odisha Students

Seats allotted on the basis of Common Entrance Test – OBJEE (Odisha Board Joint Entrance Examination) for Odisha local students of 12th Class & Intermediate.

For Non-Odisha students can apply only NRI quota seats subject to meeting eligibility criteria.

Then we have the Deemed University which conducts its own entrance test and have autonomous rules for admitting from all India students.

Every year between 40000 students compete for admission to study MBBS / PG Courses offered at the Medical Colleges in Odisha.


Medical Colleges in Odisha was last modified: March 24th, 2016 by Advai T

Follow Us Twitter Facebook Google+

Author to ATBanzara Education (mbbsmdmsDOTcom) / Srswati (srswatiDOTcom) / Blogzense (blogzenseDOTcom)

Advai T

Advai T

Author is Hyderabad-based Content Writer & Digital Marketer to ATBanzara Education, Srswati, and Blogzense. Available for Digital Marketing, SEO, Content Writing, Social Media. Part-Time. Full-Time. Or Freelance Or Business Referral. Interested companies or individual may please send your requirement to My email:

For Admission Guidance under NEET Merit / NRI Quota and for expert advice for Recognized seat / college.

Fill the form below

Pictures / Photos / Images used in this article or post is for representational purposes only.

To Receive Medical Entrance Exam Notifications in your email.

Send your requirement by Filling the form below

Do you Need Admission Guidance & Information of Medical Colleges in your Inbox ?

* indicates required