Government Medical Colleges in Odisha.

Government Medical Colleges in Odisha are 3 Institutions affiliated to Sambalpur University, Utkal University and Berhampur University.

There are 450 MBBS seats and 357 PG seats available for admission in the Government Medical Colleges of Odisha.

The seats in these government medical colleges in Odisha are allocated to the local students of Odisha through OBJEE.

The Government of Odisha instituted ‘Policy Planning Body’ conducts centralized counseling.

The students after passing out of these 3 Government Medical Colleges in Odisha are awarded degrees recognized by Medical Council of India.

List of Government Medical Colleges in Odisha

Government Medical Colleges in Odisha are 3 in number located across the state.

The list shows 3 medical Institutions at Berhampur, Cuttack and Burala.

Government Medical Colleges in Odisha State

Government Medical Colleges in Odisha State – Photo Credit


Name of  Institution




MBBS Seats

PG Seats


MKCG Medical College Berhampur






SCB Medical College Cuttack






VSS Medical College Burala








Brief details about government medical colleges in Odisha are listed below for your information.

MKCG Medical College came into existence in the year 1962. MKCG stands for Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati. The medical college has UG & PG courses. Admissions are made based on ranks obtained in OBJEE by the students of Odisha. 15% of its seats are allocated to students qualified on all India quota & 85% to the local candidates of Odisha.

SCB Medical College is located in Cuttack, which is considered to be the eastern part of Odisha. SCB stands for Sriram Chandra Bhanj. Along with MBBS, MD & MS; this medical institution also has super speciality courses available to the aspiring medical doctors of Odisha. The medical college was set up in the year 1951 with the name Orissa Medical College. Subsequently later named as SCB Medical College and Hospital.

VSS Medical College & Hospital affiliated to Sambalpur University. The medical institution is located beside the Hirakud Dam. The aim of setting up this medical college & hospital is give health services to the population in western parts of Odisha and the neighbouring certain parts of Madhya Pradesh & Chhattisgarh.

OBJEE (Odisha Board Joint Entrance Examination) for MBBS / PG Courses – Government of Odisha instituted Policy Planning Body through OBJEE conducts the selection process for determining the eligibility / merit, for admission of Odisha local candidates to full-time courses of UG / PG in Colleges within Odisha.

“Only Odisha locals are eligible for selection of Government-seats in Government, Aided, Private Un-aided Minority / Non-minority institutions through OBJEE.”

Ranks obtained in the OBJEE are the prerequisite for admission into MBBS offered in the Government Medical Colleges in the state of Odisha for the eligible students. Later eligible MBBS graduates for Post Graduate Courses.

MKCG – Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati
SCB – Sriram Chandra Bhanj
VSS – Veer Surendra Sai
OBJEE – Odisha Board Joint Entrance Examination